2021 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers. They contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw national and international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Total prize money in 2021, including sponsored awards, is up to $305,000.

Entrants must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

All works must have been first published, performed, screened or broadcast and made publicly available between 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2020 with the exception of the NSW Translation Prize which is biennial.

Please note that for the Nick Enright Prize, the guidelines have been amended. A play or work of music drama that had a scheduled first production in Australia between 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2020 but has been cancelled or deferred due to COVID-19 restrictions or had an online reading only, is eligible for entry. Please contact us via email prior to submitting your script if it is submitted under these amendments.

Entries close at 5 pm, Monday 12 October 2020.

To access the online entry form, you will need to create an account by clicking on the 'register' link above.  If you already have an account, you can simply 'login'.

Contact: Senior Project Officer, Awards at (02) 9273 1582 or (02) 9273 1605 or awards@sl.nsw.gov.au

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards are presented by the NSW Government and administered by the State Library in association with Create NSW. We are pleased to acknowledge the support of Multicultural NSW and the University of Technology Sydney (UTS).